Reynoldston is located on County Road 15, which becomses the Reynoldston Road just as you go up a hill at the Skerry Road turn-ff off. It is left off of Route 11B just west of West Bangor, NY. The center of the what was once a community was just before the Deer River and at the turn off to the Mill Road, now called the Mandish Road.
Only a few current residents and a few buildings
Reynoldston takes its name from the Reynolds Family that operated a lumber mill and logging camps from 1870-1926. At its peak Reynoldston had at most 350 residents. When the mill and logging operations ceased in 1926, most of the families who made their living at the mill and logging camps left. Only a few of the original families who settled there as primarily farmers remained -The Bordeaux and Campbell families. Reynoldston was like a lot of mill towns that thrived and then declined once the mill closed. It is unique in that the families and history of the communitly is richly documented with oral history, historical photogrpahs, and a wide range of other historical documents.
It was settled by largely French Canadians, Scottish and and English families after the Civil War in search of land and the forest resources. This history is recorded on a website http://www.reynoldstonnewyork.com